Home › Health Topics › Growth & Development > 

Child development: 6-9 years

child; development; six; 6; seven; 7; eight; 8; nine; 9; social; emotional; physical; middle; years; year; peer; skills; physical; winning; losing; lies; stealing; sleep; over; game; self; esteem; money; time. ;

Six to nine are the 'miiddle years'. There are some 'general' characteristics that each age may display eg six can be a bit bossy, seven tends to worry, eight is outgoing, nine is independent. You will probably see an emphasis on these qualities in your child's unique personality at these ages.

There are many topics on this site about development of children aged 6 to 9 years, including:

There are many more topics in our sections on Growth and development and Emotions and behaviour.

Want to read more?

The Raising Children Network website has a lot of information about school aged children, including information about development, behaviour, fitness, health and daily care. As well as articles there are several videos. The Raising Children Network site has been funded by the Australian Government.

back to top

The information on this site should not be used as an alternative to professional care. If you have a particular problem, see a doctor, or ring the Parent Helpline on 1300 364 100 (local call cost from anywhere in South Australia).

This topic may use 'he' and 'she' in turn - please change to suit your child's sex.

Home › Health Topics › Growth & Development >